Connect with us


PSC promotes 8,916 senior officers



As Larmode, Mava, Mba, others get new ranks


POLICE Service Commission has approved the promotion of 8,916 senior police officers to their next substantive ranks to fill existing vacancies.

In a statement by the Head, Press Affairs and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani, the promotions were the high points of the 5th Plenary Meeting of the commission presided over by its Chairman, a retired Inspector General of Police, Musiliu Smith.

The commission approved the promotion of three Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police. They were; Jona Jackson Mava; Olushola Babajide David and Titus Sumba Larmode.

The acting appointments of two commissioners of police were also confirmed. The beneficiaries included; Rudolf Echebi Obe (Works) and Danladi B. Lalas (Air Wing).

The statement also said that 71 Assistant Commissioners of Police were elevated to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police and they included; Ogundare D. Emmanuel; Alonge Adebowale; Augustina Nwuka Ogbodo; Ibrahim Abdullahi; Garba Ahmed; Uzuegbu Kanayo; Zubairu Abubakar; Vincent N. Nwajiofor (works), Polycarp ChilakaDibia and Emeka Frank Mba, the Force Public Relations Officer.

“102 Chief Superintendents of Police were also promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police. They were ; Michael M. Masomene; Egbe Eko Edum; Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu; Dauda I. Ayuba; Chinedu C. Ugwu; Moses Gana; Victor Akongtender Bepeh; Aminu Musa; Danjuma Madugu; Promose Chinedu Udeh; Anthony Okon Placio; Ikechukwu E. Nwosu; Okey C. Nwabufo; Ayodeji A. Dagunduro; Kanu Kanu Okoronkwo (works); Agbo B. Usman (forensic); Mustapha A. Rufai; among others.

“The Commission also promoted 487 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents. The new Superintendents of Police include Atiku Ibrahim, Personal Assistant to the acting Inspector General of Police; Florence Odewo; Ojo Abraham; Mohammed Idris and Abraham Ogedengbe.

“1,165 Assistant Superintendents of Police were promoted to the next rank of Deputy Superintendents of Police, DSP, while 7086 Inspectors were elevated to Assistant Superintendents of Police.

“Some of the new DSPs are:  Chinemelum Bartholomew of the Complaints Response Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja, Jeremiah Zumnan; Adewale Ajibuwa while Hope Nnah of Abia Command; Saviour Etetim made the list of the newly promoted Inspectors to ASPs.

“The promotions have be conveyed to the acting Inspector General of Police, on Monday in a letter signed by Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Commission,” Mr. Ani said.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.