Connect with us


The town in history



THERE were no written records or archaeological evidence; one is compelled to dwell on the premise of oral tradition.

Tradition has it that there was a famous hunter, farmer, immigrant from Oko town in Aguata Area, (now known as Aguata Local Government in Anambra State of Nigeria). The man’s name is silent as children were recognized maternally rather than paternally in the olden days.

Therefore, Nebo (meaning – Nne-ebo-mother does not burden her son with a load he cannot carry). Nnebo was a woman. That was why the husbands name was silent resulting to the phasing out of the husband name. The tradition has it that Nnebo has three sons-to-wit Ezeike, Ezeakabo and Ezeogu-ine in the descending order of seniority.

After the death of their parents, the three sons migrated and first lived at Agu-Mgbala before Obizi Ezeoye Valley. They later moved to Ozu (now in Ezeawulu)

At Ozu, Ezeike and Ezeakabo became intimately close and oppressed Ezeogu-ine. Perhaps because of strike on one side and for expansion purposes on the other, Ezeogu-ine moved to South West ward and founded Nise, leaving Ezeike and Ezeakabo behind at Ozu.

Later still, Ezeike and Ezeakabo separated. Ezeakabo moved to south ward retracing their old route and founded Akabo in Mbaukwu leaving Ezeike alone at Ozu. Ezeike still staying at Ozu metamorphosed it at Ozu-Nnebo in memory of his late mother, then further still to Ozu-Ezebo. Further metamorphosis reduced the name to Nibo.

So Nibo is a derivative of the name of the originated mother of the town. Ezeike later moved to Obu-Ezeike close to Ana-Nibo and settled there permanently.

After some years, the two warring brothers reconciled as the saying goes (iwuonwanne adiro eru na okpukpu). Ezeogu-ine came to Eke-Nibo to celebrate his Ozo title (Afia-Ozo) and vice versa. Then started the corporation between the two sister towns (Nibo and Nise) on Ozo title taking.

Ezeike had four sons who founded the four main quarters of the town whose children founded the 31 villages of the town respectively. The four sons are as follows in descending order of seniority.

  1. Awulu metamorphosed to Ezeawulu the founder of Ezeawulu.
  2. Okporukwu an immigrant from Ogoli-Oko now in Delta State, nationalized at Nibo. Ezeike adopted him as his second son. Okporukwu begot a female child called Anum. Okporukwu had no male child. He (3) traditionally retained Anum (Nrachi) in the family. Anum begot Okpalanum the Ancestor of Umuanum.
  3. Ube-Emusi, who begot Urungwu (father of Ifite). Urungwu first lived at a place known as and called Uruangwu in Ezeawulu, from where he migrated to his present abode now called Ifite.
  4. Atuma, the last born of Ezeike and ancestor of Ezeoye. The four sons in turn had children who founded villages respectively.

The details are as depicted below:

  Group A             Villages

Ezeawulu comprises of: Umuezeafugo, Umuenu, Umuka, Umu-Akpom, Umuejiofor, Umunnakwe and Umuokpalagu

  Group B Villages

Umunono Comprises of: Umuezeanowi, Umuokpaetigbu, Umuokpuanaku, Umukpoechekwubelu, Umu-ube, Umu-Ezeoka, Umu-Onyima, Umu-Okpomelu, Umu-Okponachie, Umu-Nzekwe, Umu-Okpozumba and Umu-Ezudu

  Still in Umuanum there are:

  1. Obu n’ano for each trio has four obus that is four villages.
  2. Obu n’asato comprises Umunono and Umuenechi as they are more closely related.
  3. Obumabuo comprising the 12 villages making up Umuanum

  Group C Villages

Ifite comprises of: Umu-oda, Achaloji, Umu-chimenebo, Umu-amam, Umu-izogu and Umu-ekili

  Group D Villages

Ezeoye comprises of: Umu-onoli, Umu-odebe, Umu-atum, Umu-onyia/Akaezi, Ebenator and Umu-aba.

Thus there are 31 villages in Nibo town with a population of over 200,000 people.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.