Connect with us


Buhari creates five new ministries



Ngige, Onu, Onyeama, Lai Mohammed retain portfolios
Fashola, Amaechi shed weight in new cabinet
Start work on 2020 budget immediately – SGF urges ministers

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has created five additional federal ministries in the executive arm of government to bring the number of assigned portfolios to 43 new ministries.

The president announced the new ministries after administering the oath of office on the new ministers at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, yesterday with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Senate President Ahmed Lawan, Secretary to Government of the Federation (SGF) Boss Mustapha, National Chairman of All Progressive Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole and other dignitaries in attendance.

President Buhari had earlier stated that all requests for meetings with him should pass through Chief Of Staff, Abba Kyari.

He handed down the directive while delivering an address at the two-day ministerial retreat for new ministers.

“In terms of coordination, kindly ensure that all submissions for my attention or meeting requests are channeled through the Chief of Staff, while all Federal Executive Council matters must be coordinated through the Secretary to the Government of the Federation,” Buhari said.

The new additional portfolios were Police Affairs, Special Duties and International Affairs, Power, Aviation and Works and Housing, as well as Humanitarian and Disaster Management.

Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Senator Chris Ngige, Alhaji Lai Mohammed and Chief Geoffrey Onyeama were ministers that retained their former posts in the new cabinet.

While Ngige retained the Labour and Employment Ministry, Onu remained as Minister for Science and Technology with Geoffrey Onyeama and Mohammed returning to Foreign Affairs and Information and Culture portfolios respectively.

Sharon Ikpeazu, Uche Ogah, Godswill Akpabio and Festus Kenyamo were appointed Ministers of State for Environment, Mines and Steel, Niger Delta and  Niger Delta, respectively.

President Buhari also retained Ministry of Petroleum Resources portfolio as substantive minister while Timipre Silva was appointed minister of state, with Babatunde Fashola appointed minister of the new stand-alone Works and Housing.

Ministries of Finance, Budget and National Planning were merged with Zainab Ahmed, as the minister while Clement Ike was appointed minister of state.

Meanwhile, the newly sworn-in ministers have been tasked to commence immediate work on the 2020 budget.

Secretary to Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha made the call in Abuja, yesterday, during their inauguration, adding that ministers should hit the ground running with the enormous task before them.

Only so doing, he warned, will build on the progress made by the first tenure administration of President Buhari.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.