Connect with us


Customs to retire 304 top officers



 THE Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) has announced plans to retire 304 senior officers who are either due as a result of attaining 60 years of age or the statutory 35 years in service in line with the civil service rule.

According to the retirement notice obtained and confirmed to National Light by DC Joseph Attah, Customs National Public Relations Officer, the affected officers will be disengaged from service by year 2020.

Among those affected are two Deputy Comptroller Generals (DCG), three Assistant Comptroller Generals (ACG), 13 Comptrollers, 39 Deputy Comptrollers and 45 Assistant Comptrollers.

Other rank and file officers listed on the retirement notice include 71 Chief Superintendents of Customs, 33 Superintendents, 31 Deputy Superintendents, 32 Assistant Superintendents I, 27 Assistant Superintendents II, seven Inspectors and one Assistant Inspector.

The affected officers listed in the year 2020 Statutory Retirement for Officers in the rank of Deputy Comptrollers-General are Dangaladima A.A in charge of Finance Administration & Technical Service (FATs) and Sanusi Umar in charge of Human Resource Development while officers in the rank of ACGs are Zonal Coordinator in Charge of Zone ‘C’, Frances Enwereuzor, ACG FATS Bukar Amajam and Zonal Coordinator in charge of Zone B, Chris Odibu.

Officers in the rank of Comptrollers affected by the looming retirement gale include Victor Dimka, Florence Dixon, Yusuf Bashar, Francis Adetoye , Gwani M.J, Ogwude L. N, Edede I.E, Abdulahi I.A, Zulkifu A.A, Garba K.U, Loko Y, Angbalaga J.J and one Adediran.

Those of Deputy Comptrollers’ rank  are Agbo A.H, Abdulrahman T, Salihu M.S, Abubakar M.D, Bello A.N, Chima D.N, Muhammed M, Aliyu D.G, Idris K.I, Namanu A, Zakari N, Ibume R.k, Oyafemi C.I, Waziri S.A, Abioye, T.0, Idris A.I, Muhammed A.B, Ebieme A.U, Adamu S.A, Yusuf S, Adie B.U and Dauda A. Others include Okoloagu D.I, Eneh O.O, Mamu B, Odwong B.R, Lot-Eburajolo J.E, Thlama P.W, Umar A, Mustapha I.A, Umoh P.M, Bewaji I.O, Muhammed S.D, Maude A.M, Idris Danladi A.L, Omonoyan O.O, Malah D.A, Tanko S.M and Orekie M.C.

According to the notice, those affected are to disengage from active service and proceed on three months pre-retirement leave prior to effective date of their retirement.

This is coming against backdrop of recent directive from Customs in April to recruit 3,200 officers into the service to fill existing vacancies in the area of support staff and general duties.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.