Connect with us


Anambra Assembly renews LG Councils’ tenures



ON-GOING tenures of Transition Councils (TC) of the 21 Local Government Areas in Anambra State have been renewed for another three months by Anambra House of Assembly (ANHA). The renewal, which covers tenures of both chairmen and members of the councils, was made in Awka at the at committee of the whole session of the House plenary on Tuesday, in line with section 208 of Local Government Law of Anambra State.


Speaker Uche Okafor ruled the confirmation of their appointments following a voice vote of members’ support, charging the chairmen and members to key into Gov. Willie Obiano’s achievements by ensuring that peace reigns in their council areas as sine qua non for sustainable developments.


According to him, Anambra legislators renewed their tenures in firm belief that competence and total commitment to their duties by helmsmen of the third tier of government will be guaranteed at all times through initiation of programmes and projects with direct bearing on lives of rural people.


Assuring that they will work hard to justify the confidence reposed in them, Transition Committee Chairman of Idemili North Local Government Area, Raphael Nnabuife and his Orumba South counterpart, Raymond Onyegu who spoke on behalf otheir colleagues thanked both executive and legislative arms of government for finding them worthy to pilot the affairs of their respective council areas.


It will be recalled that Chairman of House Committee on Health, Dr. Carter Umeh, equally presented the report of his Committee on a Bill for a law to repeal Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Teaching Hospital (COOUTH), Awka.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.