Connect with us


Davis Cup: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray confirmed



THE full teams for the inaugural Davis Cup Finals in Madrid have been announced, with Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Nick Kyrgios all set to feature.

  The revamped tournament will take place at Caja Magica in the Spanish capital from November 18-24, and world No 1 Djokovic will spearhead the Serbia challenge.

  Djokovic’s side are in Group A alongside 2018 runners-up, France and Japan.

  Spain are the big guns in Group B and current world No 2, Rafael Nadal is leading the “home” squad, but they are in a difficult group as they have been paired with defending champions, Croatia and Russia, who have included world No 4, Daniil Medvedev.

  Australia captain, Lleyton Hewitt, meanwhile, has selected Nick Kyrgios despite their recent differences.

  The two had a big fallout last year with Kyrgios not holding back the criticism of Hewitt.

  However, they seem to have patched things up.

  “For Nick and I, this is something that he flagged with me around March and we sat down at Indian Wells,” Hewitt said.

  “He has been so willing to do whatever it takes to get back into the Davis Cup team and play for Australia.”

  He added: “Absolutely, he didn’t play in Austria last year purely because of his body. Then obviously he had issues at the start of this year and for him it was straight away, I got a message: ‘Mate, I want to get back in the team’.”

  Australia’s Group E rivals are Belgium and Colombia.

  Andy Murray, fresh from winning his 46th ATP Tour singles title, has been named in the Great Britain team that will take on Kazakhstan and the Netherlands in Group E.

Group A


Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Mahut. Captain: Sebastien Grosjean


Yoshihito Nishioka, Yasutaka Uchiyama, Yuichi Sugita, Taro Daniel, Ben McLachlan. Captain: Satoshi Iwabuchi


Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Filip Krajinovic, Viktor Troicki, Janko Tipsarevic. Captain: Nenad Zimonjic

Group B


Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Mate Pavic, Nikola Mektic, Ivan Dodig. Captain: Zeljko Krajan


Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov, Andrey Rublev, Evgeny Donskoy. Captain: Shamil Tarpishev


Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut, Pablo Carreno Busta, Feliciano Lopez, Marcel Granollers.Captain: Sergi Bruguera

Group C


Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Leonardo Mayer, Horacio Zeballos. Captain: Gaston Gaudio


Cristian Garin, Nicolas Jarry, Alejandro Tabilo, Marcelo Tomas Barrios Vera, Hans Podlipnik-Castillo. Captain: Nicolas Massu


Jan-Lennard Struff, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Dominik Koepfer, Kevin Krawietz, Andreas Mies. Captain: Michael Kohlmann

Group D


Alex de Minaur, Nick Kyrgios, John Millman, Jordan Thompson, John Peers. Captain: Lleyton Hewitt


David Goffin, Kimmer Coppejans, Steve Darcis, Joran Vliegen, Sander Gille. Captain: Johan Van Herck


Daniel Galan, Santiago Giraldo, Alejandro Gonzalez, Juan Sebastian Cabal, Robert Farah. Captain: Pablo Gonzalez

Group E

Great Britain

Dan Evans, Andy Murray, Jamie Murray, Neal Skupski. Captain: Leon Smith


Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Alexsandr Nedovyesov, Andrey Golubev. Captain: Dias Doskarayev


Robin Haase, Tallon Griekspoor, Botic Van de Zandschulp, Wesley Koolhof, Jean-Julien Rojer. Captain: Paul Haarhuis

Group F


Milos Raonic, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Vasek Pospisil. Captain: Frank Dancevic


Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Lorenzo Sonego, Andrea Seppi, Simone Bolelli. Captain: Corrado Barazzutti

United States

Taylor Fritz, Reilly Opelka, Sam Querrey, Frances Tiafoe, Jack Sock. Captain: Mardy

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.