Connect with us


Anambra High Court gets two new judges



… Buhari appoints nine perm-secs

TWO more judges of Anambra High Court of justice have been sworn in.

  The two new judges are Mrs. Victoria Nwoye, who was formerly at the Customary Court, Abuja and Mr. Onyinye Anumonye, until now a private legal practitioner.

  They were led in oath by Gov. Willie Obiano in Awka yesterday.

  Speaking at the ceremony, the governor urged the new judges to borrow leaves from their senior colleagues by being dedicated to their duties, deploying their wealth of experience befitting their new sensitive position.

  According to Gov. Obiano, the two new judges should never deviate from the traditional demand of discharging justice without fear or favour and working hard to help in repositioning the judiciary.

  Commending the Chief Judge of Anambra State, Justice Onochie Anyachebelu and National Judicial Council (NJC) for making the appointments of the new judges possible, while promising to continue to support the judiciary, the governor enjoined judicial officers to facilitate quick justice delivery to decongest correctional centres.

  Earlier in an address, Anambra State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Uju Nwogu highlighted the Obiano administration has taken some measures that promotes welfare of the judiciary.

One of the new judges, Justice Anumonye, commended the governor for finding them worthy for the positions, describing their appointment as “a call for greater service.”

  Similarly, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of nine new Permanent Secretaries in the Federal Civil Service.

  Ag Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, disclosed this in a statement released yesterday, adding that their swearing-in will be announced later together with assignment of portfolios to them.

  The release further shows the nine newly appointed perm secretaries as Musa Hassan, Ahmed Aliyu, Olushola Idowu, Andrew Adejoh, and Umar Tijjani, Dr. Nasir Gwarzo, Nebeolisa Victor Anakali,  Fashedemi Temitope Peter, and Dr. Evelyn Ngige.

Buhari appoints nine perm-secs

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.