Connect with us


Oyo launches 2020 Armed Forces Remembrance Day with N3m



… Promotes police officers

OYO State Government has launched appeal week emblem of 2020 Armed Forces Remembrance Day Celebration with N3 million.

The state governor, Seyi Makinde pledged the donations at the launching of Appeal week emblem to cater for the families of slain and living servicemen who fought for national sovereignty and international peacekeeping.

The governor, who was represented by his deputy,  Mr Rauf Olaniyan, said the state government will continue to support the family of slain soldiers for their selfless service towards protecting their fatherland.

According to him, the role of the departed and living servicemen played in the first and second world wars, as well as international peacekeeping mission cannot be over emphasized, hence, the need for well-meaning Nigerians to donate towards the welfare of needy ex- servicemen and their dependents.

Earlier in his remarks, the Chairman, Oyo State Command of the Nigerian Legion, Deacon Michael Fajimi, said the Nigerian Legion is committed to the welfare of the living and family of the slain soldiers through various programmes to alleviate their suffering.

He lauded the state government under Governor Seyi Makinde for giving priority to the welfare of the people and support to the state Command of the Nigerian Legion.

Among the dignitaries decorated with 2020 emblems were the Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan; Secretary to the State Government, Mrs Olubamiwo Adeosun; former Military Governor of Ogun and Lagos States, General Raji Rasaki and Members of the State Executive Council.

In another development, Oyo Police Command on Monday decorated 10 officers promoted by the command to the next rank.

The promotion which have five officers promoted from the rank of the Chief Superintendent of Police (CSP) to the rank of the Assistant Commissioner of Police, while  the other five officers were promoted from the post of Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) to the rank of the Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP).

The promoted Chief Superintendents were ACP. Alex Asade, ACP. Edun Azeez, ACP. Abdul Adejo, ACP. Agboola Olajide, ACP. Bawa Elisa while the promoted Assistant Commissioner were DCP. Akoh Gabriel, DCP. Reiz Obafunke, DCP. Abaniwonda Olaolu, DCP. Aboki Danjuma, DCP. Eribo Joseph.

In his remarks while decorating the officers, Oyo State Commissioner of Police, Shina Olukolu called on the newly promoted officers to apply dedication, commitment, and act of professionalism in carrying out their constitutional roles in their new offices.

Olukolu maintained that promotion is a thing of joy which elevates one in the course  of carrying out his assigned work.

He appreciated the Inspector General of Police, IGP Abubakar Adamu for his magnanimity in extending the promotion of newly officers to the Oyo State Command, assuring him that the command will never let him down.

Reviewing the activities of the command in 2019, Oyo Commissioner of Police, Shina Olukolu maintained that the command under his supervision have not done badly in carrying out their roles, noting that the command is read for 2020 activities.

Olukolu also condoled with victims of fire incidents that occurred in Akesan Market, furniture factory at Iyaganku , and Omi Adio in Ibadan

Most senior among the promoted officers, DCP Akoh Gabriel, while speaking on behalf of others appreciated the Inspector General of Police, IGP Abubakar Adamu for the new development.

He further applauded the Commissioner of Police, CP. Shina Olukolu for bearing their shortcoming and mistakes during their waiting time.

“Promotion comes with additional responsibilities and this is a call for movement. We are highly motivated and we will remain more dedicated and committed towards achieving the objectives of the force,” he said

We promise not to let him, the command down, and we will continue to perform our obligations professionally”.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *