Connect with us


Gov Udom cracksdown on cultists



GOVERNOR Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom State has come hard on cultism and other related acts in the state, proscribing 65 cult groups  prohibiting them from carrying out either secret or public activities.

The new order revokes the 2018 Cultism and other Violent Behaviour Order which placed a ban on the activities of 31 cult groups in the state.

National Light gathered that the proscription is under the cultism and other violent behaviour prohibition order 2020 in pursuant to section 70 of the criminal code, laws of Akwa Ibom State.

Pronouncing the proscription of the affected cult groups in Uyo yesterday, Governor Udom stated that in exercise of his powers as conferred on him by Section 70 of the Criminal Code Law, Cap. 38, Vol. 2, Laws of Akwa lbom State, 2000 and all other powers enabling him in that behalf that he proclaims an order proscribing activities of cult in the state.

The proclamation covers “proscription of cults, societies and groups.”

It went on to list cults, societies and groups declared unlawful in Akwa lbom State to include; Vikings, Black Axe, KKK, Buccaneers, Mafias, Luttox  a.k.a junior Black Axe, Debam, Dewell, Icelanders, Redskins, Pirates, Amoc, Akwa Marines and Utoto groups.

Others include; September 11, Secret sons of Satan, King Cobra, Junior Vikings, Jv. Bats, Predators, Black Ladies Black Cross, Scavengers, Skylolo, Sons of Nights, Blood Brotherhood, Junior Buccaneers, White Angel’s and Musket, Daughters of Queen Amina, Lion, Leo Line, Neo Black Movement of Africa. Temple of Eden, Daughters of Jezebel, Amazon, Black Brazier, Barracudas, Black Berret, The Dragon, Red Devil, Blood Suckers, Scorpion, BlackEye, Eyie, Sons of Nights, White Angels, Yellow Ribbon and Python.

Also proscribed are Black Sword, Supreme Dreadlock, Black Heart, Black Dagger, white Brothers, High Mafia, Street Mafia, Family Mafia, Supreme Redskin, Italian Mafia, Separate Brothers confraternity and Clansmen.

Signing the law, Udom further declared illegal,  operations of cult organisations in secondary and primary schools in the state.

The law, which came into effect yesterday, states that defaulters shall be prosecuted in accordance with the Cultism, Offensive Weapons and Violent Behavior 2004 or any other enabling law.

The Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barr. Uwemedimo Nwoko who provided details of the new law explained that the new law is more comprehensive than the 2018 Prohibition.

He disclosed that the 31 groups earlier proscribed had, according to security reports, migrated into new groups, names, and more new ones discovered, hence the decision of the state government to expand the list from 31 to 65.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *