Connect with us


14 jailed in Osun for violating stay-at-home



ABOUT 14 persons were yesterday sentenced to two months imprisonment for breaching the Coronavirus movement restriction order by the state government.

  An Osun State Magistrate Court gave the judgement.

  The convicts are Adeoye Johnson, Ibrahim Babatunde, Akinloye Lukman, Owolabi Afeez, Hammed Basharu, Akinwande Saheed, and Seun Agboola.

  Others are Aribidesi Muideen, Sulaimon Ismail, Olaleye Moses, Alade Mayowa, Muniru Bashiru, Sulaiman Basaru and Omodele Titilayo.

  The presiding Magistrate, O. A Ayilara convicted all the accused persons on self- admittance.

  According to prosecutor, Inspector Adeoye Kayode, the convicts committed the offence on April 8, at about 11:30 am in Osogbo, the Osun State capital, adding that the offence was contrary to and punishable under Section 203 and 249(D) of the Criminal Code Cap 34 Vol. Il Laws of Osun State of Nigeria 2002.

  But the defendants pleaded guilty to the charge before Ayilara convicted and sentenced them to two months imprisonment or to pay a sum of N5, 000 each.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *