Connect with us


Mixed reaction trails retirement of NASS Clerk, 149 others



THE National Assembly Service Commission (NASC) has retired the National Assembly Clerk, Alhaji Mohammed Ataba Sani-Omolori, and 149 other top officials.

  Their retirement was conveyed in a letter to the affected staffs by the commission yesterday.

According to the letter, any staff that has spent 35 years in service or is 60 should leave and would receive their retirement letter soon.

But observers say the development may finally resolve the tenure elongation for Sani-Omolori and the affected staff.

The Senate and House of Representatives had in 2018, debated and approved the new conditions of service for National Assembly staff, which included extension of tenure.

As a result of the amendment of the National Assembly’s Condition of Service, the retirement years for public servants in the National Assembly was moved from 35 to 40 years, while retirement age was upgraded from 60 to 65 years.

But upon appointment of the National Assembly Service Commission Chairman, Ahmed Amshi, early this year, the tenure extension started witnessing increased criticisms before Amshi set up a panel to investigate the issues around the tenure extension.

Following submission of the panel’s report, Amshi wrote to the two chambers seeking reversal of the 2018 resolutions to allow for Omolori’s sack as well as the 150 senior staff, whose tenures were extended.

However, Clerk of National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori has countered the National Assembly Staff Commission (NASC) on the retirement of staffs of the federal legislature that have attained 60 years or 35 years in service.

  Speaking in a statement, yesterday, Sani-Omolori  said the retirement age of staff of the National Assembly is 65 years or 40 years of service.

He said the decision of the 8th Assembly on the condition of service for staff has not been rescinded by the National Assembly.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *