Connect with us


Body supports power shift to Anambra South in 2023



National Coordinator of the Movement for Good Governance, a non-governmental organisation, Ignatius Muoneke, has endorsed the policy of power rotation among the three senatorial zones in Anambra State as now entrenched by the ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

    Chief Muoneke made the commendation while hosting a meeting of the NGO at Amawbia, in Awka

South Local Government Area, on Tuesday, and passionately requested all the active political parties interested to contest the forthcoming governorship in the last quarter of next year (2021) to ensure that all their flag-bearers emerge from the southern senatorial zone.

    The frontline human rights activist and community leader further stipulated that such rotation of power, especially the post of the governor as the highest elective public office and chief executive officer of the state, should be occupied in turn under well-defined rotational arrangement to reduce unnecessary rivalries and power tussle likely to cause political upheavals in the state.

   He said: “When the military handed over power to the prevailing civilian administration, in 1999, Anambra South produced ex-Governor, Chinwoke Mbadinuju ), who was succeeded by Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige and immediate past governor, Mr. Peter Obi both from the central senatorial zone, while the incumbent Governor Willie Maduabuchi Obiano hails from the northern senatorial district.”

    According to him, “At the end of Governor Obiano’s tenure, in March 2023, equity and justice demand that the next governor of the state should come from Anambra South Zone in the interest of fairness and peaceful brotherly co-existence amongst ndi Anambra without bitterness and rancor.”

    Chief Muoneke noted that the Igbo race had been lamenting against injustice and marginalisation in the national scheme of things, therefore, as the ‘Light of the Nation’, the state should always set good examples for other Nigerians to emulate through equitable distribution of public offices and dividends of democracy amongst the three existing senatorial zones.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *