Connect with us


Nigeria’s varsities, polytechnics, unity schools to reopen Oct. 12



FEDERAL Government, today directed the reopening of all schools in Nigeria, including universities, polytechnics, colleges of education and 104 federal government colleges, otherwise known as unity schools.

  Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, gave the directive in a press conference in Abuja, saying the decision to reopen schools was sequel to review of COVID-19 situation in Nigeria which shows that infection has been on decline. 

  According to him, National Universities Commission (NUC), National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) and National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) were notified of the directive

  “We have consulted widely with stakeholders in the sector including the Association of Private Schools (NAPPS), Provosts of Colleges of Education, Rectors of Polytechnics, Vice Chancellors of Universities, State Governors,   Commissioners of Education and development partners. Our eyes and ears are opened to the international media. I’m glad to report that there has not been any single case of COVID-19 in all Unity Schools. No single fatality among the students. We have come to the conclusion that we have to review our decisions. After consultation with PTF, we have resolved that our Unity Schools be opened on October 12, 2020,” he said.

  But Adamu warned schools to strictly adhere to COVID-19 protocols during resumption and throughout the semesters, adding that defaulting schools risk closure.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *