Connect with us


Ebonyi factional PDP Chairman, others decamp to APC



THE factional Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ebonyi State, Onyekachi Nwebonyi and other executive members of his faction have finally resigned their PDP membership and decamped to All Progressives Congress (APC).

  The resignation and subsequent defection to their APC was announced at Pa Ngele Oruta Township Stadium, Abakaliki.

  Nwebonyi said the reason of their defection was due to the anti-democratic practices in the party.

  Recall that Nwebonyi, and other executives of the PDP in Ebonyi State were sacked by the national leadership of the party following the defection of Governor David Umahi to the APC, in November, last year.

  The PDP leadership also appointed a caretaker committee led by Elder Fred Udeogu to pilot the affairs of the party in Ebonyi State, in the interim.

  But Nwebonyi and some PDP executives in the state rejected their dissolution and consequently, dragged the party to court. The development led to multiple court cases that have been lingering for months.

  However, the leadership may have come to an end following the resignation of Nwebonyi and his faction from the PDP.

  Receiving Nwebonyi and other decampees, the Caretaker Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ebonyi State, Mr Stanley Okoro Emegha, thanked them for making a wise decision, and urged them to go to their various wards and register with the APC.

  Meanwhile, the state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party said Nwebonyi had since lost his membership of the PDP after his expulsion, noting that the said  resignation from the party and defection to the APC was a mere jamboree.

  A statement signed by the party’s Publicity Secretary, Silas Onu, on Saturday, called on all PDP faithful to remain resolute and focused on the responsibility of reinvigorating themselves for a successful and total takeover of government come 2023.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *