Connect with us


National Light Reporter, Okafor Wins Anambra Media Excellence Award



A REPORTER of Anambra Newspapers and Printing Corporation (ANPC), publisher of National Light Newspaper, Ka Ọ Dị Taa Igbo Newspaper and SportslightXTRA, Izunna Okafor has won the 2021 edition of the Anambra Media Excellence Award (AMEA).

  Organised by Association of Digital, Media Core Advocates (ADMCA), AMEA is an annual award that recognizes and honours media personalities and institutions who have not only proved to be outstanding, but have also positively impacted the humanity and the society at large, through their practice.

  Speaking at the event shortly before presenting the award, the Director, Association of Digital Media Core Advocates, Dr. Harris Chuma-Odili described the award ceremony as a meeting point where journalists and media practitioners converge to unwind and celebrate professionalism annually.

  While noting that the previous editions of the award and the selection process had been done through online nomination and voting; Chief Odili revealed that this year’s award had a slight change in the process of adjudication, as it nominated people and submitted to the panel, which in turn verified, scrutinised and adjudicated.

  In his word, “The 2021 edition brings the Anambra Media Hall of Fame to permanently celebrate distinguished media professionals for their essential roles in the socio-political development of the state.

  “We will not only be celebrating media professionals but handing out reward packages like prizes to make their hardwork worthwhile.”

  He also expressed optimism that AMEA will knit a closer bond and synergy with the awardees to foster team work and greater partnership.

  Speaking with newsmen, Izunna Okafor, who is also an author and 2015 Winner of Nigerian Writers Award disclosed that the AMEA award is his 31st award as a diglot author and journalist.

  While noting that he had once been nominated for the AMEA Award as a News Reporter of the Year in 2019, but lost it to a colleague, Okafor also appreciated the organisers for the recognition, and described it as a “prestigious honour and great motivation”.

  Other media practitioners who were also awarded at the event include: Chief Chido Obidiegwu, who is a veteran broadcast journalist and media consultant; Mr. Roy Ekwunife of Anambra Broadcasting Service (ABS), Awka; Pamela Eboh of Champion Newspaper and News Express; Joy Odinye of Channels Television; Franklin Chukwuebuka of Ogene FM; among others.

  It would be recalled that Anambra Newspapers and Printing Corporation had also won the Anambra Media Excellence Award as the Print Medium of the Year in 2020.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Top Posts