Connect with us


Ijegalu emerges speaker of SEYAN



A POLITICALLY motivated pressure group under the umbrella of South East Youth Assembly of Nigeria (SEYAN) recently inaugurated  the first national executive body to oversee the  affairs of the association.

   The election,  which was held at Anambra Newspapers & Printing Corporation,  Awka, had in attendance some of the representatives from the five eastern states.

The former President of the National Association of University Students (NAUS), who is the new Speaker of SEYAN) and member representing Ezeagu/Udi Federal Constituency, Enugu State, Ijegalu Simon Felix, in his speech  after the election said the welfare and the yearnings of the people of the south east was paramount. He expressed gratitude for the honor given to him to lead, promising that he will serve with his might and strength.

“It is time to engage our people in the nation, at the continent and around the globe to bring down the benefits of the south east people. This is a big task but we are going to give-in our best shoot. We are going to attract what belongs to us. This union is primarily to protect and chase whatever that is the interest of the south east. We are going to be specific and articulate in our demands.”

Speaking to newsmen after the election, the Majority Leader, Julius Nnamdi, Deputy Minority Leader, Abaegbu Nnamdi, Female Leader, Chinturu Ikonne C. Dollar promised to leave up to expectations.

They urged the federal government to look into the needs of the youths and empower them through creating more jobs and also attract private investors both at the state and federal level.

They emphasised on the fact that the youths need to be re-orientated, stating that the southeast has been left behind politically and other-wise and that ndi Igbo are ready to rule the country in 2023.

They urged youths to stop complaining and get involved in politics which will help nurture their potentials.

Other principal officers who were also elected included: Deputy Speaker, Oyeh John Kinsley, Chukwuebuka, Member, representing Orumba North/ South Federal Constituency, Anambra State; Majority Leader, Ndive Julius Nnamdi, Anambra East/West Federal Constituency, Anambra State.

Others were; Deputy Majority Leader, Nicholas Odozor,  Enugu State, Chief Whip, David Uzoma Andrew,  Imo State, Deputy Chief Whip, Nwambe Richard, Ebonyi, Minority Leader, Agbom Sunday, Ebonyi State, Deputy Minority Leader, Abaegbu Nnamdi, Abia State, Female Leader, Chinturu Ikonne C. Dollar, Abia State

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Top Posts