Connect with us


INEC creates 21 more registration centres in Anambra



ADDITIONAL registration centers have been created in each of the 21 local government areas in Anambra State by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

  Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in Anambra State, Dr. Nkwachukwu Orji disclosed this during a media briefing in Awka.

  Explaining the new centres as part of INEC’s strategy to solving the new surge in number of prospective voters seeking to participate in the on-going Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) exercise, Orji also said the commission established the new centres in demonstration of its capacity to respond to emergencies promptly.

  Warning that voter registration is still free, while charging people to report any official collecting money, Orji called on those yet to register to do so before the exercise winds up on June 30.

  In a related development, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has promised to bring in additional Voter Registration Machines (VRM) to clear up long queues in Anambra and other states currently recording upsurge in number of people seeking to register.

  Chairman of INEC, Prof Mahmood Yakubu, gave the promise during an interactive forum in Abuja, yesterday.

  Calling on Anambra State Resident Electoral Commissioner to liaise with security agencies and stakeholders to reopen registration in Ihiala, Nnewi, Ogbaru and Ayamelum Local Government Areas, where Continuous Voter Registration is currently suspended owing to insecurity, Yakubu said INEC will leave no stone unturned in ensuring that nobody is disenfranchised in the 2023 general elections.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Top Posts